Nu Chapter

Region X Catawba County

The North Carolina State Organization

The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International


The professional educators of Nu Chapter of The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International welcome you! Nu Chapter is located in Region X of the North Carolina State Organization of The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International. Our chapter includes educators from Hickory, Newton, and Conover located in the beautiful Catawba Valley at the foot of the Blue Ridge Mountains.

2020-2021 dues need to be paid no later than May 31, 2020. Active members pay $80 for annual dues. This can be paid at the March meeting or mail to Treasurer Amanda Moose.

Coming Events

April 23 CANCELED!!

2020 New Member Induction Ceremony St. Andrew's Lutheran Church - Hickory

May 31, 2020

DUES deadline ($80) for 2020-2021!

May 1-3, 2020 POSTPONED!!

2020 NC DKG Convention Greensboro Airport Embassy Suites Greensboro, NC

July 7-11, 2020

DKG International Convention Marriott Downtown - Philadelphia, PA

Nu Chapter Holds First Virtual Orientation for New Members

Nu Chapter Incoming President Dee Snyder, Membership Chair Carol Bostian, and Treasurer Amanda Moose held the chapter's first virtual orientation meeting for new members. They were joined for the video conference with prospective members Lee Ann Perry, Amanda Sigmon, and Amanda Swengros on Tuesday, May 5. With the technology assistance of Amanda Moose, the meeting was held using Google Meets with all participants being able to see and hear the presentation. The Society presentation "Pride in the Big Picture" was used to share information about all levels of the Society but especially about the projects and activities of Nu Chapter. Look for more information about the meeting in the May newsletter.

March Business Meeting

Nu Chapter held their March business meeting on Saturday, March 7, 2020, at the First Presbyterian Church in Newton. The chapter recognized their achievement points for the NC DKG Chapter Achievement Award and made contributions to the Region VII convention project - NC DKG Headquarters. Kerri Wimberly, a Nu member for less than seven years, was recognized as the chapter's Shining Star. She has also been nominated for the NC DKG Rising Star award. The NC DKG Golden Key nomination was a surprise for Amanda Moose who has served Nu Chapter and NC DKG in numerous roles. The 2020-2022 chapter officers were installed by out-going president Martha Brown.

Following the business meeting, Nu Chapter joined Gamma Phi for the Ceremony of Remembrance for Monteen Fox, a question-and-answer panel of North Carolina legislators and candidates, and enjoyed a delicious salad luncheon.

2020-2022 President Dee Snyder receives her president's pin from current President Martha Brown

Teachers Helping Teachers

Volunteer here

the free materials store for teachers.

Document Your Volunteer Hours

Click below for the form.